The Seed and the Sower

The Seed and the Sower

Originally credited as Godfrey & Stewart, later reissues reverted to The Enid, technically making this the band's 9th Studio album. It also marked the end of the pair's long and successful partnership. Robert Perry's liner notes from the 1997 reissue perhaps sum it up best: "It is extraodinary that this little miracle, this atmospheric and bittersweet album, with all its power and beauty, was conceived and recorded at a time when The Enid was breaking up and the estranged pair were barely speaking to each other."
“The Seed And The Sower” is a novel by Laurens Van Der Post, whose writings formed the basis of the 1982 film “Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence”.

1. Chaldean Crossing
2. A Bar Of Shadow
3. La Rage
4. Longhome
5. Earthborn
6. Reverberations

Robert John Godfrey Keyboards
Stephen Stewart Guitars
Damian Risdon Drums
Niall Feldman Bass

Geraldine Connor Earth Mother (Vocals)
Troy Donockley Low Whistles

Recorded at The Lodge Studios March 1987 - May 1988
Engineered by Stephen Stewart
Produced by Robert John Godfrey and Stephen Stewart


1990's Albums

The Seed and the Sower

Tripping The Light Fantastic


Anarchy of 45 A-Sides

Anarchy of 45 B-Sides

The White Goddess