Live with the CBSO [2CD]

Recorded by Abbey Road Live at Symphony Hall Birmingham.
Price: £16.00
Price / kg:

The Enid perform live with a full Symphony Orchestra and Choir at Symphony Hall, Birmingham.

Recorded live on 15th October 2011 at Symphony Hall Birmingham in front of an audience of around twelve hundred. The first half of the concert commences with seminal works from the band's debut album, In The Region Of The Summer Stars. This music, originally composed in the 1970's, has been substantially revised to suit this new 21st-century incarnation of the band.
CD one concludes with the epic tone poem Fand. The work as it is now performed has its origin in 1984 when Robert John Godfrey revisited his youthful efforts of 1976 and completely reworked and extended the composition. Fand as it now exists has been radically revised again for this concert.
CD two begins with a performance of the 2010 album, Journey's End, which is the first in a planned trilogy of recordings. The Art Of Melody - the final track on Journey's End - is performed by the CBSO alone. The Art of Melody ushers in major themes of Invicta, the next in the trilogy to be completed in 2012. A once-in-a-lifetime performance of Barclay James Harvest's Mockingbird from Robert John Godfrey's original score followed by Dambusters and Land Of Hope and Glory round off CD two.

The world-class City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra (CBSO) and The Warwickshire County Music Services Youth Choir really bring these compositions to life. Following the concert, The Enid has received high critical acclaim as “Incomparable, unique and always adventurous...” The Midland Rocks. The Express and Star reviewed “The delivery of Enid songwriter Robert John Godfrey’s songs through a rock band augmented by an orchestra and choir worked brilliantly.” The concert was recorded by Abbey Road Live and mixed by The Enid’s very own Max Read at The Lodge Recording Studios, Northampton.

Track List:


  1. Judgement
  2. In the Region of the Summer Stars
  3. Childe Roland
  4. The Mirror of Love
  5. Fand


  1. Journey’s End
    1. Terra Firma
    2. Terra Nova
    3. Space Surfing
    4. Malacandra
    5. Shiva
    6. The Art of melody
    1. Mockingbird
    2. Dambusters and Land of Hope and Glory



    City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra - Conductor: Mike Seal

    The Warwickshire County Music Service Youth Choirs - Choir Master: Andrew Atkins

    Warwickshire Girls Choir - Directors: Nicola Atkins and Ailsa Cochran

    Warwickshire County Youth Chorale - Director. Sheila Russell

    Northampton Dedbelles: Joe Payne, Mat Howlings, Richard George, Jack Keyser, Dan Moloney Alex Simmons, Dan McGrath, Toby Hanson

    Seraphim Trompeteers: Paul Mason Owen Duffield, Freddie Bob, Gavin Broom

    Symphony Hall Organ: Sean Montgomery

    Live Sound Mixing: Eardley

    Lighting: Frank Alexander

    Live Sound Recording - Will Shapland, Will Shapland Mobiles / Abbey Road Live Here Now

    Studio Mixing and Mastering: Max Read

    Crew: Mike Lawrence, Toby Hanson

    Abbey Road Live Here Now are: Annie Brown, Anya Salisbury, Caitlin Cresswell, Dan Hardingham, Dina Mystris, Finn & Niamh Moran, Louise Downer, MJ, Noggin.

    The Enid would like to thank (in no particular order) the following for their help on the 'Road to Symphony Hall': Andrew and Nicola Atkins, Mike McLester, Antony Meadley, Ian Murphy, Algie Gray, Anita Whittington, Jane Armstrong John Shelton, Jay Chacba, lan Eardley, Peter Kendall, Duncan Bissatt, Ian Munns, Linda Munns, Beardfish,Chris Marsh, Neil Palfreyrnan, Toby Hanson, Mike Lawrence, Elsa, Halley Dicker, Dave Walker, Lloyd Grant, Mike Hicks, Tony Gassett, Tony Henfrey, Leffe, Discus Group, Andrew Roberts, Richard Hubbard, Mike Inns, Paul Stevens, Joe Mies, Ann Veranou, John Norris.
    A very special thank you to the CBSO, especially conductor Mike seal, who is not only an accomplished conductor but an 'Enid natural'; intuitively sympathetic to the music and able to take command of the music, bringing his own magic to the performance. We couldn't have done it without him.

    Photography: Neil Palfreyman

    The Warwickshire County Music Services Youth Choir Vocalists:
    Charlie Amer ton Mona Basson Ole Beach Aine Bennett Claire /load Alex Briscoe Jennifer Brook Cameron Butt Gabrielle Calvert Emily Collins Loma Connolly Robin Connolly Gexgina Gxrigan Alt's Davies Joe Davies Sarah Davies &sten Davis Alice Dix Olivia Duffin Thomas Edwards Sam Evans Elena Ghiggino Laura Ghiggino Elie Globs Jennifer Gibbs John Grayson Rebecca Greaves Patricia Grimshaw Simon Grimshaw Emily Hancock Georgina Harwood Amy Healey David Heathcote James Heathcote Phoebe Hewitt Sophie Hobson Megan Hooker Beth Howard Georgia Hunt Beth Jellicoe Jessica Johns Lamour Johnstone Georgia Kendal Matthew Lee Ben Lenton Emma Lenton Maria Marshall Andrew Martin Hannah McCluskey Jessica McSweeney Alex Morgan 011ie Morgan Lu Mullins Molly Outhwaite Rebecca Painter Zachary Price Robyn Palen Idly Robson Tana Sabin Eliza Self Rhiannon Smith Megan Studtury Lucinda Taft Elle-Mae Thompson Emily Thompson Zoe Todd Emily Twist Mitchell Ward Andy Weighed Anna Whiting Ella Wilkinson Emily Wright Amy Yeates Ruth Yeates

    My Account

    Shopping cart


    Cart empty


    Search in Shop